Cuche, the King of Downhill Sprint

Didier Cuche (Ale Trovati/Pentaphoto)

Didier Cuche (Ale Trovati/Pentaphoto)

Didier Cuche hasn’t been distracted by his announced retirement from racing at the end of the season and after he enjoyed great success at Lake Louise and Kitzbuehel, he won a first place in Garmisch too. Officials were forced to move the starting gate of the Super-G because of very low clouds and the race was halved. This is the 20th victory in the career for the Swiss champion, who 100% understood the track and took revenge against Erik Guay, the one who placed first before him in the DH World Cup last year. This time the Canadian is second at 0.27 seconds, while Hannes Reichelt is third at 0.30 seconds.

The Italian team shows good signs of recovery. For the second time this season and for what DH is concerned, three racers are in the Top 15. Christof Innerhofer has found the same feeling with the snow he had early in the season. The customs officer from Gais did an excellent performance in the town where last year he found glory, fame and three World Championship medals and only a bad mistake in the lower part of the track prevented him from being on the podium. He is fourth, just 0.09 seconds from the podium. Dominik Paris did well too, he finished sixth place but he had been very near the podium until the latest gates. Peter Fill finished his race in an encouraging thirteenth place, while Werner Heel, Siegmar Klotz, Matteo Marsaglia and Mattia Casse got no points at all.

The overall standings remain unchanged at the top. Ivica Kostelic (905 points) and Marcel Hirscher (825 points) haven’t opened up a lead yet; Beat Feuz is third (and only twenty-third on this occasion) with 673 points.

The Top 10 of the Men’s DH in Garmisch (Germany):

1 CUCHE Didier 1974 SUI 1:09.10
2 GUAY Erik 1981 CAN 1:09.37
3 REICHELT Hannes 1980 AUT 1:09.40
4 INNERHOFER Christof 1984 ITA 1:09.49
4 SPORN Andrej 1981 SLO 1:09.49
6 PARIS Dominik 1989 ITA 1:09.53
7 CLAREY Johan 1981 FRA 1:09.54
8 KROELL Klaus 1980 AUT 1:09.60
9 THEAUX Adrien 1984 FRA 1:09.65
10 KUENG Patrick 1984 SUI 1:09.71
10 PUCHNER Joachim 1987 AUT 1:09.71

  • Questo sito utilizza cookies, clicca su OK per acconsentire
  • OK
  • Leggi di più